Board of Directors

There are currently seven positions on the LPEPC Board of Directors. An officer must have been an LPEPC Contributing Member (i.e., registered Libertarian that pays yearly dues), affirm the LP Statement of Values and Non-initiation of Force (the “Pledge”), and serves until the end of the next annual convention. There are no term limits for officers.



Chris Houtchens

Contact: chair@lpepc.org


Vice Chair


Contact: vicechair@lpepc.org



John Hjersman

Registered Libertarian since 2001.  Continual absenteeism due to employment at sea prevented uninterrupted active participation for years.  Since retiring in 2012, that excuse has evaporated.  A newcomer to the area, moved to Colorado Springs in September, 2013.  An Engineer by profession, most comfortable with technical issues.

John was appointed Treasurer in February 2015, elected to that position in April 2015, and reelected in February 2016.

Contact:  treasurer@lpepc.org



Amy Lunde-Provines

Amy Lunde-Provines was appointed to the LPEPC Secretary position in October of 2016.  She only recently moved to rural El Paso County, but lived in Colorado Springs 21 years ago when she first moved to Colorado, prior to spending the last 20 years in the Denver Metro area. Amy registered as a Libertarian in 2008, and the 2012 election cycle spurred her into activism at all levels.  She has been a Director of the Social Media Ambassadors program through LP National; Social Media Committee Chair, Convention Committee Chair, and Regions Director of the Libertarian Party of Colorado; and Secretary-Treasurer and Chair of the Libertarian Party of Arapahoe County.  Amy enjoys spending time on her property out in the woods north of Peyton.

Contact: secretary@lpepc.org


Affiliate Representative

John Hjersman

The Affiliate Representative serves as the Point of Contact between the Libertarian Party of El Paso County and the Libertarian Party of Colorado.
Appointed as Affiliate Representative in March 2016.

Contact: ar@lpepc.org


Education Director

Gordon Beacon

Gordon is the Acting Education Director of the Libertarian Party of El Paso County. He was appointed as Acting Education Director in June 2016.  He has been a registered and active member of the Libertarian Party in El Paso County since 2016. He has been a resident of El Paso County since 1994.

Gordon is currently volunteering as a docent instructor at the Space Foundation in Colorado Springs in addition to his Education Director duties.

Contact: education@lpepc.org


Outreach Director

Judy Darcy

Judy Darcy is the Outreach Director of the Libertarian Party of El Paso County. She served as Interim Secretary of the Development Group and was first elected as Secretary in August 2013. She was appointed as Outreach Director in April 2014 and reappointed in April 2015, and again in February 2016

Judy Darcy has been a registered Libertarian since 2012. She has been an active leader at the local, and county levels of the party, running for office, working on campaigns, citizen initiatives, outreach, and education. She is the current candidate for Colorado House District 20.

Contact: outreach@lpepc.org


Directors & Committees

Bylaws Committee Chair

Mike Seebeck

Mike is a former LPEPC Outreach Director and Media Director, former LPCO Media Director, former LPRC (CA) Treasurer, former LPCA Executive Committee member (Bylaws Committee Chair and member) and former LPCA Southern Vice-Chair.  He has also been a local radio talk show fill-in host, Lights of Liberty Triathlete (twice), school board candidate, and campaign manager.  He currently serves as the Administrative Assistant and Bylaws and Covenants guru for his rural HOA.  His first work in the LP was when he was a pamphleteer for Ron Paul’s 1988 Presidential campaign, and has been a Libertarian since 2001.

Contact: bylaws@lpepc.org


Newsletter Editor

Mariana Wagner

Wagner i Team Mariana (29)

Mariana Wagner is the Newspaper Editor of the Libertarian Party of El Paso County. She initiated the creation of the first issue of the El Paso County Libertarian Newsletter, in 2013, and has been Editor-in-Chief for each issue since.

Mariana has been a registered Libertarian since 2013 and is an active, contributing member of the local, state and national Libertarian Parties. In addition to managing and editing the Newsletter, she has also been a small business owner in the Pikes Peak region since 2001.

Check out the current newsletter here: lpepc.org/news-blog/newsletter

Contact: newsletter@lpepc.org


Campaign Committee

Open Position


Campaign Committee would coordinate the goals of the County Party and individual campaigns. Candidates & Issues committees would report to the Campaigns Committee to keep the Party informed of upcoming events and information regarding their campaigns. The Campaign Committee would help to determine eligibility of candidates for upcoming elections.

Convention Committee

Lance Haverkamp


Manitou Springs Political Issues Liaison

Norman “Paotie” Dawson

Paotie is the Chair of the Libertarian Party of El Paso County. He has served as Manitou Springs Political Issues Liaison since 2013 and was elected as Chair in March 2014.

Paotie has been a registered Libertarian in El Paso County since 2013. He joined the National Libertarian Party in February 2012. He has been an active leader at the local, and county levels of the party, working on campaigns, citizen initiatives, outreach, volunteering, and education.



Political Issues Liaison

Open Positions across the County

Political Issues Liaisons keep track of local political issues & report to the Board. This position would keep the Board informed of upcoming issues in the local area so that the Board could take action in accordance with the Platform – City Council Meetings, local Board Meetings, Hearings, etc.

Finance Committee


Finance Committee keeps in close contact with the Treasurer and assists as needed.


Volunteer Coordinator

Cathy Smith


IT Coordinator

Matt Smith