Libertarian Party of El Paso County (LPEPC)



Annual Convention Minutes 2025

Date: April 26, 2025

Location: Trinity Brewing Warehouse, 4630 Forge Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80907

Time: 2:25 PM - 4:39 PM

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 2:25 PM by the Chair, Rebekah Craig.

2. Credential Report

- Motion: Jesse Campbell moved to accept the credential report, noting 17 voting members credentialed. Seconded by John Hjersman.
- Outcome: Carried without objection.
- Note: Quorum was met with 17 voting members present.

3. Approval of Agenda

- Motion: Jesse Campbell moved to adopt the provided agenda. Seconded by Kurt Wildforster.
- **Point of Order**: John Hjersman proposed amending the agenda to change "Appointment of Officers" to "Election of Officers."
- Outcome: Amendment and agenda adopted without objection.

4. Election of Officers

a. Chair

Nominations:

- Jesse Campbell nominated Rebekah Craig. Ms. Craig accepted and spoke.
- John Hjersman nominated Doug Jones. Mr. Jones accepted. Mr. Hjersman gave a nomination speech.
- Procedural Note: Jesse Campbell moved to call the question (intending to call for a vote), which proceeded. Doug Jones requested a campaign speech. Kurt Wildforster moved to allow Mr. Jones to speak, which was granted.
- Vote: Rebekah Craig: 11; Doug Jones: 6.

Outcome: Rebekah Craig elected Chair.

b. Vice Chair

- **Nominations**: Taylor Triggs nominated Kurt Wildforster. Mr. Wildforster accepted and spoke. Grant Johnson nominated Doug Jones, who declined.
- Vote: Kurt Wildforster: 15; None of the Above (NOTA): 0.
- Outcome: Kurt Wildforster elected Vice Chair.

c. Secretary

- **Nominations**: Brian Flanagan nominated Taylor Triggs.
- Vote: Taylor Triggs: 14; NOTA: 0.
- Outcome: Taylor Triggs elected Secretary.

d. Treasurer

- **Nominations**: John Hjersman nominated Brian Flanagan. Mr. Flanagan spoke.
- Vote: Brian Flanagan: 15; NOTA: 0.
- Outcome: Brian Flanagan elected Treasurer.

5. Approval of 2024 Convention Minutes

- Motion: Jesse Campbell moved to approve the 2024 Convention Minutes. Seconded by Kurt Wildforster.
- **Vote**: 11 in favor, 0 opposed.
- Outcome: Motion carried.

6. Bylaws Proposals

a. Proposal 1

- Presenter: John Hjersman.
- Initial Vote: Yes: 10; No: 7.
- **Point of Order**: Brian Flanagan raised a concern about insufficient debate. The Chair approved a motion to allow further discussion and a revote.
- **Discussion**: Brian Flanagan questioned the proposal's motivation; John Hjersman elaborated.
- **Final Vote**: Yes: 4; No: 11.
- Outcome: Proposal did not pass.

b. Proposal 2

- Discussion: Led by Daniel Schinsky.
- Motion to Vote: Jim Wiley moved to call the guestion.
- Vote: Yes: 8; No: 9.
- Outcome: Proposal did not pass.

c. Proposal 3

• **Vote**: Yes: 2; No: 14.

Outcome: Proposal did not pass.

d. Proposal 4

• Vote: Yes: 3; No: 11.

• Outcome: Proposal did not pass.

e. Recess

- Motion: John Angle moved for a brief recess at 3:28 PM. Seconded by Kurt Wildforster.
- Outcome: Carried without objection.
- **Resumption**: Meeting resumed at 3:39 PM.

f. Proposal 5

- **Discussion**: Led by John Hjersman, Grant Johnson, and John Angle.
- Amendment: Zach Collier moved to amend the proposal to include: "Written notice shall be submitted by the Director to the Secretary or the Chair by the next board meeting." Seconded by John Angle.
- Vote (with amendment): Yes: 14; No: 0.
- Outcome: Proposal passed as amended.

g. Proposal 6

- **Discussion**: Focused on defining libertarian principles.
- Vote: Yes: 9; No: 5.
- **Point of Order**: John Angle requested a quorum count, confirmed at 14 members (10 required for a two-thirds majority).
- Outcome: Proposal did not pass.

h. Proposal 7

• **Vote**: Yes: 11; No: 2.

• Outcome: Proposal passed.

i. Non-Substantive Proposals (8, 10, 12)

- **Motion**: The body unanimously agreed to consider Proposals 8, 10, and 12 together, allocating 2 minutes for discussion.
- Quorum Check: Confirmed at 15 members at 4:12 PM.

• Vote: Yes: 9; No: 6.

• Outcome: Proposals did not pass.

j. Proposal 9

- Note: Kurt Wildforster departed at 4:15 PM; quorum reduced to 14 members.
- **Vote**: Yes: 7; No: 6.
- Outcome: Proposal did not pass.

k. Proposal 11

- **Vote**: Yes: 6; No: 7.
- Outcome: Proposal did not pass.

I. Proposal 13

- **Vote**: Yes: 5; No: 9.
- Outcome: Proposal did not pass.

m. Proposal 14

- **Discussion**: Extensive debate.
- **Vote**: Yes: 5; No: 9.
- Outcome: Proposal did not pass.

7. Announcement

- The Chair announced a future Board Meeting to hold Committee Director Elections.
- Action Item: Secretary to notify members of the Board Meeting date and agenda.

8. Adjournment

•	The meeting was adjourned at 4:39 PM by the Chair, Rebekah Craig.

Submitted by:			
John Angle, Secretary			
Approved by:			

Rebekah Craig, Chair

Minutes to be approved at the next Annual Convention of the LPEPC.